or imported. Under the Petroleum Administration Act, 1975, the board administers the export charge on crude oil and certain refined petroleum products and administers, on behalf of the minister of energy, mines and resources, the pricing of natural gas entering interprovincial and international trade.

The board is required to study and keep under review all matters relating to energy under the jurisdiction of Parliament and to recommend measures it considers necessary and advisable. It reports to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

National Farm Products Marketing Council. Established in 1972 under the Farm Products Marketing Agencies Act (SC 1972, c.65), the council consults with producers, commodity boards, and provincial and federal governments and co-ordinates their views on the establishment and operation of national marketing agencies. It assists and supervises the operations of agencies and promotes more effective marketing of farm products in interprovincial and export trade. The goal is to maintain and promote an efficient, competitive and expanding agricultural industry.

The council consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman, two full-time and four part-time members appointed by the Governor-in-Council and is directly responsible to the minister of agriculture. Council headquarters is in Ottawa.

National Film Board. The board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1970, c.N-7) which provides for a board of governors of nine members — a government film commissioner, appointed by the Governor-in-Council, who is chairman of the board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The board reports to Parliament through the secretary of state. It is responsible for advising the Governor-in-Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations. The board is responsible for the production and processing of films for government departments. Its head office is in Ottawa and its operational headquarters is in Montreal.

National Harbours Board (Harbours Board Canada). The board was established by an act of Parliament in 1936 (RSC 1970, c.N-8). It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of St. John's, Nfld.; Halifax, NS; Saint John and Belledune, NB; Sept-Îles, Chicoutimi, Baie-des-Ha! Ha!, Quebec City, Trois-Rivières and Montreal, Que.; Churchill, Man.; Vancouver and Prince Rupert, BC; the Jacques Cartier and Champlain bridges at Montreal; and the grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The board reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

National Library of Canada. The library came into existence in January 1953 with the proclamation of the National Library Act (RSC 1970, c.N-11). It publishes *Canadiana*, a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada, with an annual cumulation. The library also publishes other bibliographies. Its reference branch maintains the Canadian Union Catalogue which embodies the author catalogues of major libraries in the 10 provinces and is thus a key to the book collections of the whole country. The library's own bookstock totals more than 500,000 volumes. The national librarian reports to Parliament through the secretary of state.

National Museums of Canada. This is a departmental Crown corporation established in April 1968 by the National Museums Act (RSC 1970, c.N-12) to join under one administration the National Gallery of Canada; the National Museum of Man (including the Canadian War Museum); the National Museum of Natural Sciences; and the National Museum of Science and Technology (including the National Aeronautical Collection). The corporation reports to Parliament through the secretary of state.

The national museums corporation is governed by a board of trustees, consisting of a chairman, vicechairman and 12 members, as well as two ex officio members — the director of the Canada Council and the president of the National Research Council. The secretary general is responsible for directing and managing the business of the corporation except for those matters which are the responsibility of the board or of the four museum directors. Museum directors are responsible to the board for the overall activities of their respective operations.

The purposes of the corporation are to demonstrate the products of nature and the works of man, with special but not exclusive reference to Canada, so as to promote interest therein through Canada and to disseminate knowledge thereof. The corporation is empowered to collect, classify, preserve and display objects; undertake or sponsor research; arrange for and sponsor travelling exhibitions of materials in, or related to, its collections and to arrange for publication or acquisition and sale to the public of books, pamphlets, replicas and other relevant materials; undertake or sponsor programs for training persons in the professions and skills involved in the operation of museums; and arrange for or provide professional and technical services to other organizations whose purposes are similar to any of those of the corporation, as approved by the minister.

National Parole Board (Parole Board Canada). The board was established in 1959 by the Parole Act (RSC 1970, c.P-2), which gives it absolute authority for parole of inmates under sentence of imprisonment under